The Hon Dr Gary Johns took up the role of Commissioner following a long and varied career in regulation, public service and policy advice. Dr Johns has previously held roles as a Director of the Australian Institute for Progress, an Associate Professor of public policy at Australian Catholic University, and an Adjunct Professor at the Queensland University of Technology Business School. He has also served as a member of the Prime Minister’s Community Business Partnership, and as an Associate Commissioner of the Productivity Commission. He was an inaugural board member of Volunteers Australia.

    From 1987 to 1996, Dr Johns represented the electorate of Petrie in the Federal Parliament and served as a Minister in the Keating Government. Dr Johns was also a columnist for The Australian, and has authored a number of books on charities and the not‑for‑profit sector.

    A member of the ACNC Executive team since the Commission’s establishment, Murray Baird has dedicated his career to not‑for‑profit and charity law and governance. Before joining the public sector, he was a senior partner at Moores Legal, where he led the not‑for‑profit team. A sought‑after adviser, writer and presenter on not‑for‑profit legal issues, Murray has acted in several leading cases in the field of charity law, and has served on the boards of public and private companies and charities.

    Murray has been Chair of Ansvar Insurance, First Samuel Limited and the National
    Housing Company. He has also served on boards of schools, church and community organisations. Murray was formerly a Director of the Australian Charity Law Association and Appeals Officer for the Australian Council for International Development Code of Conduct.