The ACNC Advisory Board supports and advises the ACNC Commissioner. The Board is appointed by the Minister and consists of up to eight 'general members' with expertise in the not-for-profit sector, law, taxation or accounting, and office holders. The Board also currently consists of two ‘ex-officio members’ who are appointed to the Board because they each hold a specified office.

General members are appointed for a term of up to three years. Ex-officio members remain on the Board as long as they hold the specified office. The Board meets quarterly.

Advisory board members

Tony Stuart is the Chair of the ACNC Advisory Board and a member of the Prime Minister’s Community Business Partnership. He is the Chief Executive Officer of UNICEF Australia and Director of the Starlight Children’s Foundation. Previously Tony was the Group Chief Executive Officer of National Roads and Motorists’ Association, one of Australia’s largest not-for-profit organisations. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management.

Dr Martin Laverty is the Deputy Chair of the ACNC Advisory Board. Dr Laverty is the Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia. He is a Director of the National Disability Insurance Scheme, a Director of Health Direct, Chair of the Australian Government General Aviation Advisory Group, Convener of the Institute of the Sisters of Mercy Future Governance Working Party, and an Adjunct Professor at University of Western Australia’s Not for Profits Initiative.

David Pigott has held a number of executive roles at Mission Australia including his current position of Executive, Policy and Corporate Affairs. He has served as an adviser to federal and state governments and as private secretary to the NSW Premier. David is a member of both the Reserve Bank of Australia Payments Consultation Group and the NSW Ministerial Advisory Council on Ageing. David is also the Chair of the Ella Centre.

Heather Watson is a specialist charity lawyer with experience across the not-for-profit sector. She holds a number of non-executive appointments across the charity sector including as Chair of Uniting in NSW and ACT; Epic Good Foundation and Community Services Industry Alliance Reform Council. Additionally, she holds directorships with Uniting Victoria and Tasmania, and Australian Regional and Remote Community Services, and with a number of other government institutions and advisory boards.

Peter Hogan is a Chartered Accountant with over 50 years of experience. Peter began his career at the Australian Taxation Office before moving into the private sector and becoming a corporate tax partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers. Peter is currently the Chair of Carbon Energy Ltd and a director of OneAll International Ltd. Peter is also the Deputy Chair of Villa Maria Catholic Homes Ltd and a former Board Chair of St Bernard’s College, Essendon.

Dr Susan Alberti AC is one of Australia’s pre‑eminent philanthropists and the founder and Chair of the Susan Alberti Medical Research Foundation. Dr Alberti was the leading force behind the establishment of the Australian Football League’s elite women’s competition. Dr Alberti has been awarded the Officer of the Order of Australia, the Companion of the Order of Australia and was named 2017 Melbournian of the Year and 2018 Victorian of the Year.

Ex-officio members

Dini Soulio is the Commissioner of Consumer Affairs and Liquor and Gambling with Consumer & Business Services (CBS) in South Australia. CBS has a broad portfolio which includes charities regulation. Dini’s background is as a solicitor in private practice, working in the areas of insurance, workers compensation and criminal law. He has also held senior regulatory roles with Customs and ASIC.